Lasting Support and Friendship Found in Telluride #TPSER8

The past few days in Telluride have been nothing short of spectacular. Not only have I been exposed to important topics in patient safety through workshops and simulations, but I have also learned from the unique and interesting perspectives of my similarly-motivated peers and faculty. Dr. Mayer and others have spent a considerable amount of time organizing the thoughtful activities that we have experienced over the past few days, and I feel like they were very successful in generating important discussion. For instance, our discussion on the roles of nurses at different institution was eye-opening in the sense that many of my peer medical students had very little knowledge about other allied health professionals. I felt very fortunate that at my institution we have had several interdisciplinary sessions with nursing students before and after our clinical year exploring the power dynamics and abuse of power in the hospital. Our dean of student affairs has been a champion for this cause, and it would be great to see similar sorts of sessions spread to other institutions.

Additionally, I feel that the success of this camp is particularly evident in the spontaneous conversations about meaningful topics that occur outside these scheduled activities. This struck me last night around 1 am when, after a day involving hiking into the beautiful area surrounding Telluride, engaging in important patient safety discussion regarding communication, sprawling along a hillside listening to one of the nation’s largest bluegrass festivals, and spending a considerable amount of time in a hot tub with 15 other peers, I found myself in an intense debate about standardization of practices lasting late into the night. I am consistently blown away by the students that have assembled here, and I feel like I have developed relationships over the past four days that will surely last for many years to come. I was equally amazed by the faculty who have donated their time to speak with us here. In particular, some of my most thought-provoking and transformative conversations here have been with these leaders in patient safety during our breaks or leisure activities such as happy hours of barbecues. These experiences have taught me more about myself and have really driven me to think about how best to pursue a career in this important field. Throughout my time at Telluride, I have begun to recognize the patient safety successes and areas ready for improvement at my home institution. I hope to take my renewed enthusiasm for patient safety back to Yale and work to generate a similar level of awareness in my fellow classmates.

Leave a Reply

