Resident Reflections–#TPSER8

If I had spent the last four days locked in a library researching the patient safety literature non-stop, I would not have walked away with as much knowledge, enthusiasm, and support as I acquired participating in the Transforming Mindsets: Patient Safety Summer School for Resident Physicians in Telluride, Colorado.  The collective efforts, shared experience, and mutual support of everyone involved made for a special atmosphere (in the already special atmosphere of nine thousand feet) that allowed each of us to rise above our prior potentials.  Within an hour of resuming clinical duties today, I was already championing our collective cause, walking a fourth year medical student through an incident report about a delayed dose of nevirapine in a newborn; her initial grimace at the optional “name of reporter” question eventually morphing into an enthusiastic smile as she entered her name following our discussion about the benefits of reporting and transparency. I couldn’t be more excited right now to motivate these types of small shifts towards a safety mindset while also pursuing large-scale systems shifts that ensure safety as well.  Thank you to all the faculty and especially to the other residents!

Jon Hatoun, MD, MPH – PGY2

11 Responses to Resident Reflections–#TPSER8

  1. Barbie says:

    Great job, Jon! Continue to lead by example.

  2. Hi, Tracy,

    I wish I could be there in Telluride with you and everyone but the blog is the next best thing to being there!

    What you said is so important: “walking a fourth year medical student through an incident report about a delayed dose of nevirapine in a newborn; her initial grimace at the optional “name of reporter” question eventually morphing into an enthusiastic smile as she entered her name.”

    You helped me see more clearly what it takes to do reporting by an individual person — and then what it will take to do so for many, many others. It’s the small things that make up the big change!

    Please convey warm greetings to Dave and Tim all our colleagues on this journey…

    Rosemary

    • Tracy Granzyk says:

      Hi Rosemary,
      This particular post is one I posted for Jon Hatoun, one of the residents, who so importantly shared his story. I agree, it is a larger burden when it is “you” putting your name on the report–but having a support system behind you, like the large family of Telluride Alumni growing each year, I would hope is empowering. Thanks so much for your comments and participating in the blog. I will pass on your kind words to Dave, Tim and the group as I will be back in Telluride next week. We would love to have you post to the blog! I’ll send an invite–
      Hope to see you soon-
      Tracy

  3. Christopher Smith says:

    It’s been a hectic few days trying to dig myself out of the pile of work that accumulated while I was in Colorado, but it was well worth the incredible experience I had. One of my faculty mentors asked me how I will apply what I learned in Telluride to changing culture at our hospital. My answer was to start by impacting those around me through my actions i.e. modelling. Much like Jon demonstrated, we should be the change we want to see in the healthcare world. As residents, we have incredible power to influence those around us. And it’s not just students that look to us for direction and leadership. We are just as influential to our fellow residents and faculty (at least some of them). By engaging in effective, ego-less communication, engaging patients in shared decision making, and committing ourselves to blameless reporting and evaluation of safety errors, we really can plant the seed of a cultural revolution in medicine! I can’t wait to see what everyone accomplishes in the next year and beyond!
    Chris

    • Tracy Granzyk says:

      Chris–So well put. Really like the idea of being the change you want to see in healthcare. Keep us all posted on your progress!

  4. Pingback: Telluride Patient Safety Educational Roundtable and Resident Physician Summer Camp 2013 « Educate the Young

  5. Free Tv says:

    Somebody necessarily assist to make significantly articles I might state.
    This is the first time I frequented your website page and to this point?
    I surprised with the analysis you made to create this particular put up extraordinary.

    Wonderful task!

  6. Hello there, I found your blog by the use of Google while looking
    for a similar topic, your web site came up, it seems
    good. I’ve bookmarked it in my google bookmarks.
    Hello there, simply turned into alert to your blog via Google, and located that it is really informative. I’m gonna watch out for brussels.
    I will appreciate in case you proceed this in future.
    Many folks will be benefited from your writing. Cheers!

  7. Cecil says:

    I love your blog.. very nice colors & theme. Did you create this website yourself or did you hire someone to do it for you?
    Plz respond as I’m looking to design my own blog and would like to find out where u got this from. many thanks

    • Tracy Granzyk MS says:

      Hi there,
      Thanks so much for taking the time to comment — this is WP theme — one of the free ones. Hope that helps!
      Tracy

  8. It’s perfect time to make a few plans for the longer term and it is time to be happy. I have learn this post and if I may just I wish to recommend you few attention-grabbing issues or tips. Maybe you could write subsequent articles regarding this article. I wish to read more issues about it!

Leave a Reply

